PEAKE, Mervyn. Titus Groan.

Regular price
Sale price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

PEAKE, Mervyn Titus Groan London, Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1968

8vo. Orange paper wrappers with black lettering on title cover and spine; Pp. [4] 7-505 [1]; 6 illustrated plates; slight discolouration on top edge of front cover; discolouration and bruising on spine; foxing on foreedges, otherwise very good.
Uncorrected proof copy from Eyre & Spottiswoode
First published in 1946, Titus Groan is the first novel in the classic fantasy series, the Gormenghast Trilogy. Although frequently compared to the work of his predecessor J.R.R. Tolkein, the surreal nature of the novel can be said to have been inspired by Peake's admiration for writers such as Robert Louis Stevenson. Mervyn Peake first gained acclaim through his practice as a painter and illustrator during the 1930's and 40's and his work is now included in the National Portrait Gallery collections. Titus Groan introduces us to the inhabitants of Castle Gormenghast, a vast, decaying and mysterious kingdom of it's own.