A Complete Set of Flashman Novels

FRASER, George MacDonald. A Complete Set of Flashman Novels.

Regular price
Sale price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

FRASER, George MacDonald. A Complete Set of Flashman Novels London: Herbert Jenkins, 1969-2005.

8vo., 12 vols; all but volume 11 in red boards (volume 11 in black) intermittently silver or gold to spines; the earlier volumes and final volume with endpaper maps; some overall light toning and sunning, particularly to the spines of the jackets; three volumes price clipped; volume two with some lifting of the acetate and nicked to edges, with small chip to head of spine; Vol. 7 with previous ownership inscrition in green ink to verso of ffep; ownership name in ink to ffep of Vol. 4; ownership initials in blue biro to the front paste-down of Vol. 5; a couple of volumes with slight lean; some light spotting to edges of the text block; sporadic wear to spine tips and edges, and some minor fading to the spines; a very good set, overall, all complete in the iconic dust jackets.
First editions all, including the rare second volume.
The Flashman novels tell the story of Harry Flashman, a cowardly British soldier, rake and cad who is placed in a series of real life historical incidents between 1839 and 1894. Although many of the events have a basis in truth, the narrative is purely fictional. The character of Harry Flashman was originally developed from one found in the novel Tom Brown's School Days, in which he was described as a bully at Rugby School who is expelled for drunkenness. Fraser's novels continue the story from his expulsion from school into the army. Although he is a coward who tries to run away from any danger, he ends up being involved in many famous military episodes from the 19th century, often taking actions that cause or affect subsequent events, such as his flatulence affecting the Charge of the Light Brigade. He also meets a series of famous figures, including Benjamin Disraeli, the Duke of Wellington, and Abraham Lincoln.
Comprising Flashman' (1969); 'Royal Flash' (1970); 'Flash for Freedom!' (1971); 'Flashman at the Charge' (1973); 'Flashman in the Great Game' (1975); 'Flashman's Lady' (1977); 'Flashman and the Redskins' (1982); 'Flashman and the Dragon' (1985); 'Flashman and the Mountain of the Light' (1990); 'Flashman and the Angel of the Lord' (1994); 'Flashman and the Tiger' (1999);and 'Flashman on the March' (2005).