The Novels of the Sisters Brontë

BRONTE SISTERS. The Novels of the Sisters Brontë.

Regular price
Sale price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

BRONTE SISTERS. The Novels of the Sisters Brontë. Edinburgh: John Grant, 1911.

8vo., 12 volumes. Original green cloth, spines lettered in gilt; top edges gilt, others untrimmed; with frontispieces and numerous plates; slight rubbing to extremities; spines and top edges sunned on some volumes; a little bubling to boards, with a few unobtrusive marks here and there; foxing to outer and lower edges as well as to endpapers; a few light spots to text; one plate reglued in vol. II; a good set.
This 12 volume Thornton edition set is a classicl library edition of the Bronte sisters work containing: Anne Bronte's Agnes Grey, and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (two vols.); Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights; and Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre (two vols.), Shirley (two vols.), Villette (two vols.), The Professor; and The Life of Charlotte Bronte by Mrs Gaskell. These Thornton editions, edited by Temple Scott, are widely considered to be the complete definitive works.