Whispering Mountain

AIKEN, Joan (author). Whispering Mountain.

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

AIKEN, Joan (author). Whispering Mountain. London; Jonathan Cape. 1968.

8vo. Original turquoise boards lettered in gilt to spine, pictorial map endpapers in colours, preserved in pictorial dustwrapper with wrap-around design in black and white; pp. [viii], 9-240; with title-page engraving but otherwise unillustrated; both externally and internally fine, and uninscribed, protected by an equally fine, unclipped dustwrapper (21s.).
First edition. An historical fantasy, set in the time of James III, in the fictional Welsh town of Pennygaff. An ancient prophecy is realised on the discovery of the legendary golden Harp of Teirtu in a ruined monastery. A chain of events ensues involving treachery, greed, kidnapping, flood, and avalanche as the young Owen Hughes, and his female friend Arabis, set off in pursuit of the hired thieves Bilk and Prigman right to the heart of the Whispering Mountain.
This volume is the prequel to Aiken's "Wolves Chronicles", a series of a dozen works set in her own historical world. In it she introduces her invented royal family of Stuart kings including Davie Jamie Charlie Neddie Georgie Harry Dick Tudor-Stuart (phew!), who becomes King of England in her later book The Cuckoo Tree.